"A Lion is dangerous only when he is hungry"


The Lions have been part of Sylvan Lake Minor Football for over 15 years. Our philosophy is to use the game of football as a tool in teaching the players, coaches and parents the important lessons of how to be champions on and off the field. The Lions are committed to the principals of "Teamwork and Sportsmanship". We are committed to making sure all of our players learn the essentials and fundamentals of football while striving to make this organization as competitive as possible. The Lions play in the highly competitive Central Alberta Minor Football Association and consists of players who turn 13, 14 or 15 during the current year and who are not entering grade 10 in September of the current year. Each year, the Lions football squad trains our future high school football players, the HJ Cody Lakers. We are certified as a "Safe Contact" team which indicates our desire to ensure the safety and enjoyment of all players on our team. We strive to instill an attitude of respect in everything we do. Thank you for considering our program for your child. 

Coaching Staff

Vic Sloboda
Assistant Coach/ Defensive Coordinator
Phone: 403-588-6436

Geoff Rambaut
Head Coach/Offensive Coordinator

Coach's Message:

2018 is a new year for the Lions. We can't live on past glory or expect wins to come easy. For two consecutive seasons we have come up short in the final game. League Championships don't come easy. We start this year the same as everyone else. 0 wins and 0 losses. I encourage you to come everyday and to make this day better than the last. By working hard we will better each other and make this team a team to remember. Let's go Lions. Hear the Roar. Lions Pride. 


Posted On: 06/04/2019    2:30PM

Spring Camp will be from May 13th to may 25th. It will be from 6 pm to 8 pm each week night. Saturda...

Posted On: 06/04/2019    2:28PM

Registration for this years spring camp and fall season will be at 6 PM at H J Cody High School in S...

2019 Roster

No Records found


Team MVP2017Cody Peever
Offensive Player of the Year2017Reuban Braitenback
Defensive Player of the Year2017Sam Jones
Outstanding Lineman2017Brody Henry
Most Improved Player2017Justice Portsmouth
Rookie Of The Year2017Brett Bylsma
John Kriekle Ironman Award2017Connor Langford
"Heart of the Lion" Award2017Diezel West
Team MVP2016Warren Stewart Brown
Offensive Player of the Year2016Dax Bylsma
Defensive Player of the Year2016Sam Jones
Outstanding Lineman2016Brody Duperon
Most Improved Player2016Rachel Rush
Rookie Of The Year2016Cody Peever
John Kriekle Ironman Award2016Arden Kasha
"Heart of the Lion" Award2016Ewan Ballantyne
John Kriekle Ironman Award2014tba
"Heart of the Lion" Award2013Burkley Theriault
Most Dedicated Player2013Donnie Hoover
Most Versatile Player2013Calvin Burton
Offensive Lineman of the Year2013Ethan West
Defensive Lineman of the Year2013Trent Tarling
Team MVP2013Justin Fedun
Most Improved Player2013Rylan Gyori
Defensive Player of the Year2013Rayden Thomas
Rookie Of The Year2013Caleb Johnson
Offensive Player of the Year2013Michael Smyth